- DLI's January 13, 2026 board minutes report an 81% first-attempt journeyworker pass rate for 2025 YTD.
- The April 21, 2026 minutes report a 96.1% journeyworker pass rate for the same 2025 YTD label, but without confirming it's first-attempt-only.
- The written exam is scored on 240 points across roughly 5.5 hours, with 70% needed to pass.
- After a failed attempt, DLI requires at least a 30-day wait before you can retest.
What the Numbers Actually Say
Anyone researching the Minnesota Journeyworker Plumber License Exam (MN-JP) eventually asks the same question: how many people actually pass? Unlike many trade licensing programs, the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) doesn't publish a slick annual pass-rate report for public marketing. Instead, the numbers surface in Minnesota Plumbing Board meeting minutes - official but easy to overlook unless you know where to look.
Two recent sets of minutes give us hard figures, and they don't match each other. That's not a data error to panic over, but it is something every candidate preparing for the JP exam should understand before they build expectations around a single headline percentage.
Two Board Reports, Two Different Figures
The Minnesota Plumbing Board's January 13, 2026 minutes report an 81% first-attempt journeyworker pass rate, labeled as 2025 YTD data. That figure specifically describes candidates sitting for the exam for the first time - it excludes repeat test-takers who failed and returned after the required waiting period.
Then the April 21, 2026 minutes report a 96.1% journeyworker pass rate, using the same "2025 YTD" label. Critically, this second figure is not identified as first-attempt-only. It's plausible this later number reflects a broader pool - including retests - or simply a later data pull covering more of the year, but the minutes themselves don't clarify the methodology difference.
| Source | Reported Figure | Label | Scope Noted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 13, 2026 Board Minutes | 81% | 2025 YTD | First-attempt journeyworker candidates |
| Apr 21, 2026 Board Minutes | 96.1% | 2025 YTD | Not specified as first-attempt-only |
Key Takeaway
Don't average, blend, or "split the difference" between 81% and 96.1%. They measure different (or at least differently-scoped) populations under the same date label. Cite them separately and note the scope difference whenever you reference either number.
What both figures agree on, directionally, is that most candidates who sit for the JP exam do pass it - but a meaningful share do not clear it on the first try, which is exactly why disciplined preparation still matters. For a full walkthrough of how DLI scores the exam and what 70% actually requires point-by-point, see our MN-JP Passing Score 2026 breakdown.
Why Candidates Fail the JP Exam
DLI doesn't publish a public list of "most-missed questions," but the structure of the exam itself points to the likely friction points. The written JP exam is worth 240 points, administered in-person over roughly 5 hours and 30 minutes, and mixes multiple-choice and multiple-response questions with calculation problems and diagram-based sizing tasks. That combination punishes candidates who only memorize code language and never practice applying it to a drawing or a pipe-sizing scenario.
- Time pressure on sizing problems. Diagram-based sizing tasks take longer to work through than a simple recall question, and 240 points spread across a fixed window means pacing errors compound.
- Unfamiliarity with the untabbed code book. DLI supplies an untabbed 2020 Minnesota Plumbing Code during the exam. Candidates who practiced with a heavily tabbed, indexed personal copy lose valuable minutes hunting for sections under test conditions.
- Weak coverage of the smaller chapters. Candidates naturally over-study high-traffic chapters like water supply and sanitary drainage while under-preparing narrower areas like nonpotable rainwater catchment systems or the administrative rules chapters - all of which still appear on the exam.
For a deeper look at exactly how demanding the format is relative to other trade exams, read How Hard Is the MN-JP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Domains That Drive the Score
The DLI-linked study guide (dated April 2022, built on the 2020 Minnesota Plumbing Code and 2018 Uniform Plumbing Code with Minnesota amendments effective December 17, 2021) organizes exam content into 16 knowledge areas. These are useful study categories - not an official weighted blueprint - but they tell you exactly where DLI expects competence.
Domain 7: Chapter 6, Water Supply and Distribution
Water distribution sizing and installation is also one of the three mandatory experience categories for licensure, so it shows up both in your work hours and on the exam. Expect sizing calculations tied to fixture units and pressure.
- Pipe sizing tables and velocity limits
- Backflow prevention placement
Domain 8: Chapter 7, Sanitary Drainage
Drain, waste, and vent (DWV) work is another of the three mandatory hour categories on the registered-unlicensed path, and it carries heavy weight in the code itself.
- Slope and sizing requirements
- Cleanout placement rules
Domain 10: Chapter 9, Vents
Vent sizing and configuration questions often pair with drainage diagrams, so candidates need to read a system as a whole rather than isolate each chapter.
- Vent sizing relative to trap arm length
- Common venting configurations
Domain 14: Chapter 4716, Plumber Licensing and Apprentice Registration
This administrative chapter is easy to skip while focusing on technical code, but it governs the licensing framework you're about to enter - including renewal and continuing education rules.
- Registration and licensure structure
- Continuing education obligations
All 16 domains - including the smaller ones like nonpotable rainwater catchment systems and the administrative rules chapters - are covered in detail in our MN-JP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 16 Content Areas. If you're just starting to plan your study sequence, the MN-JP Study Guide 2026 lays out a fuller roadmap than pass-rate data alone can offer.
Exam Format and Fee Mechanics
Part of understanding pass-rate context is understanding exactly what candidates are up against logistically. The JP exam is administered in-person by DLI, with a $50 application fee. On test day, DLI provides an untabbed 2020 Minnesota Plumbing Code, a current laws and rules booklet, and a basic calculator. Personal reference books and electronic devices are prohibited - meaning your preparation has to build genuine recall and code-navigation speed, not reliance on a customized personal binder.
For the full cost picture - application fee, renewal fee, and what continuing education runs over a license cycle - see MN-JP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. And if you haven't locked in a test date yet, MN-JP Exam Dates 2026 covers how DLI's scheduling works.
How the Eligibility Path Affects Readiness
Pass-rate variation isn't purely about study habits - it's also shaped by how candidates arrive at exam eligibility in the first place. The standard registered-unlicensed route requires four years and 7,000 qualifying hours, including at least 2,000 hours in water distribution, 2,000 in drain/waste/vent, and 1,000 in fixture installation, all certified by a responsible licensed master plumber. Completed registered apprenticeships and qualifying restricted or out-of-state licenses provide alternative routes to the exam.
Candidates who accumulated their hours across a narrow specialty - heavy commercial DWV work with little exposure to water distribution sizing, for example - often walk into the exam with an uneven skill profile relative to the code's chapter structure. Reviewing the full eligibility mechanics in MN-JP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify before you apply can help you identify where your field experience is thin and where you'll need to lean harder on study time instead.
How to Improve Your Odds
Generic exam advice like spaced repetition or timed drills only helps if it's mapped to MN-JP's actual structure. Given the 5.5-hour format and the mix of recall, calculation, and diagram work, a practical approach is to sequence your review so the heaviest, most calculation-dependent chapters get dedicated blocks early, while narrower administrative domains get concentrated review closer to test day.
Core Technical Chapters
- Domain 7 (Water Supply and Distribution) and Domain 8 (Sanitary Drainage) sizing tables
- Practice pipe-sizing calculations without a tabbed reference
Fixtures, Vents, and Supporting Systems
- Domain 5 (Plumbing Fixtures and Fixture Fittings), Domain 10 (Vents), Domain 11 (Traps and Interceptors)
- Work full diagram-based sizing scenarios end to end
Administrative and Regulatory Domains
- Domain 14 (Chapter 4716 Licensing), Domain 15 (Rules Chapter 1300), Domain 16 (Miscellaneous Statutes)
- Timed practice using only DLI-style untabbed references
Running full-length timed sessions using our MN-JP practice test platform under similar time constraints - no personal notes, a basic calculator only - is one of the more direct ways to simulate the actual testing conditions before exam day. It's also worth cross-checking your weak areas against a condensed reference like the MN-JP Cheat Sheet 2026 in your final week.
If You Don't Pass
If your score falls short of 70%, DLI requires a minimum 30-day wait before you can reapply and retest. Use that window deliberately rather than simply re-reading the same material. Identify which domains cost you the most points - sizing calculations, code citation recall, or diagram interpretation - and rebuild your review plan around those specific gaps rather than restarting from scratch.
It's also worth revisiting whether your practical field experience genuinely covered all three mandatory hour categories (water distribution, DWV, fixture installation) at sufficient depth, since gaps there tend to show up directly in weak exam performance on the corresponding domains.
Key Takeaway
A failed attempt isn't just a setback - it's diagnostic data. Use your 30-day wait to target the specific domains where you lost points, not to generically "study more."
Once you're licensed, remember that JP licenses expire December 31 of odd-numbered years, and renewal requires $53 plus 16 approved continuing-education hours, including at least eight hours specifically on the State Plumbing Code - so the studying habits you build now carry forward. For context on how this credential fits into your broader career and earning trajectory once you clear the exam, see MN-JP Salary Guide 2026 and Is the MN-JP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
FAQ
DLI's Minnesota Plumbing Board minutes report two figures for 2025 YTD: an 81% first-attempt journeyworker pass rate in the January 13, 2026 minutes, and a 96.1% journeyworker pass rate in the April 21, 2026 minutes, which is not specified as first-attempt-only. These should be treated as separate data points rather than averaged together.
The January minutes explicitly describe first-attempt candidates only. The April minutes use the same "2025 YTD" label but don't confirm the same scope, so the higher figure may include a broader pool of test-takers, additional months of data, or both. The board minutes themselves don't clarify the exact methodology change.
The written exam is scored out of 240 points, and you need 70% to pass. Points reflect a scoring scale, not a literal question count, so don't try to map your target score to a specific number of questions answered correctly.
No. DLI supplies an untabbed 2020 Minnesota Plumbing Code, a current laws and rules booklet, and a basic calculator during the exam. Personal reference books and electronic devices are prohibited, so practicing with an untabbed code copy beforehand is important.
DLI requires a minimum 30-day waiting period before you can reapply and retest after a failed attempt. Use that time to target the specific domains where you lost the most points rather than broadly re-reviewing everything.